Day 5 – afternoon reflections

Brilliant day today.

I exceeded my own expectations and wrote an outline of my whole presentation Friday.

The course I attended this morning reminded me of my need to be more proactive (i.e. the opposite of re-active) in my relation with my supervisor, and to follow this up, I’ve set an agenda and mailed it to him, to get things back on track.

Also, I’ve taken action on the leads I’ve got in terms of new case participants, and have been setting up initial meetings next week – entirely contrary to my preference, but entirely in line with the ‘kill ants’ principle/taking control and ownership of my PhD project.

Tomorrow, I need to work effectively to find case quotes to use in my presentation on Friday – Listening through interviews quickly and systematically to get only the stuff I need for the presentation – This will also help me get an overview before meeting with my supervisor, and help me start eating the elephant of data analysis.

Well done, Nils!

Leave a Reply

